University of Delaware
College of Education & Human Development banner

Awards & Accreditations

J Nauman Bell award

Jennifer Naumann, ETE ’99,(2nd from left) is presented with the Bell Award for Outstanding School Leadership. Also pictured is Ernie Lopez, Ed.D. ’12, (left)

Awards and Recognition

CEHD alumni, faculty and staff are often recognized as valued leaders in their field. 

To see a list of notable awards received by the University of Delaware, visit our UD Rankings webpage.




  • Ryan Award – Lamont Browne, Ed.D, CEO Eastside Charter School was presented with this national award for exceptional leadership in closing the achievement gap in urban K-12 schools.
  • Grosvenor Teacher Fellow was bestowed upon Teagan Thomas, ETE ’13, by the National Geographic Society. The award allowed Thomas, a 6th grade science teacher at Las Americas ASPIRA Academy, to travel to the Arctic Sea to research wildlife and climate, develop activities for use in her classroom.
  • Delaware School Psychologist of the Year – Gabi Koury, M’12, a school psychologist in the Red Clay Consolidated School District, was recognized by the Delaware Association of School Psychologists for her commitment to student diversity, community collaboration, demonstrated leadership, and the development of her students’ academic and social skills.



 See more alumni award recipients from 2010-2013.

Our College is well-respected nationally.

  • Our School of Education Graduate Program is consistently ranked as one of the top education schools by US News & World Report’s “America’s Best Graduate Schools“. In 2016, we were ranked 35th in the nation (376 schools granting doctoral degrees were surveyed).
  • Our Mathematics Education Undergraduate Program for Elementary Teachers received the national 2013 Wisniewski Award, given by the Society of Professors of Education for demonstrating “singularly significant contributions to the theory and practice of teacher education.”
  • The Early Learning Center was reaccredited in 2016 by the National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC), having met 100% of Criteria by Program Standard. Fewer than 10% of early care and education programs achieve NAEYC accreditation (2011 accreditation article).
  • The Delaware Center for Teacher Education were reaccredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE) for teacher preparation and advance preparation levels, receiving a special congratulations from the Board who identified “no areas for improvement relative to any of the standards.”

CEHD Faculty and Staff

Our faculty are leaders in their field, not only recognized for their expertise, but also dedicated to supporting our students as they pursue their education.

  • Technology in Reading Research Award– Rachel Karchmer-Klein, associate professor in the University of Delaware School of Education, received the 2016 Technology in Reading Research Award from the International Literacy Association’s (ILA) Technology in Literacy Education Special Interest Group (TILE-SIG).
  • AAIDD Fellow – Nancy Weiss, director, National Leadership Consortium on Developmental Disabilities, was named a fellow in 2016 by the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD).
  • Fulbright Scholar – Allison Karyn, associate director CRESP, has been selected as a 2016-2017 Fulbright Scholar by the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board  to measure and address food insecurity in the Bahamas.
  • AERA Fellow – Jinfa Cai, professor of mathematical sciences with a joint appointment in the School of Education was named a 2016 fellow of the American Educational Research Association.
  • Early Career Achievement Award – Steven Amendum, DCTE Faculty Scholar, was recognized by the Literacy Research Association in 2015 for making significant contributions to literacy research and education.
  • James McKeen Cattell Fellow Award – Roberta Golinkoff, professor SOE (and Kathy Hirsh-Pasek, Temple University) were presented this lifetime achievement award by the Association for Psychological Science in 2015.
  • Torch Award – Barbara Settles, HDFS professor, was recognized in 2015 for her decades-long effort to ensure women’s equality at UD.
  • NCFR Fellow – In 2014, the National Council on Family Relations conferred its prestigious fellow status on Bahira S. Trask, HDFS professor, associate chair and graduate coordinator.
  • Senior Scholar – James Hiebert, Robert J. Barkley Professor of Education, was presented the SIG-RME national scholar award in 2015 for significant contributions in mathematics education.
  • Dybwad Humanitarian Award – Nancy Weiss, director of UD’s  National Leadership Consortium on Developmental Disabilities, was presented the Humanitarian Award by the American Association on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities (AAIDD) for significantly promoting human welfare and social reform in ways that positively affect the lives of people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.
  • Leadership Award – Steven Eidelman received the 2015 AAIDD leadership award for his work advancing the services used by people with disabilities.
  • Salzburg Fellows – Rena Hallam and Martha Buell were selected to participate in the 2015 Salzburg Global Seminar, introducing early childhood development to the international conference.
  • ISIR Lifetime Achievement Award – In 2013, Linda Gottfredson, professor, School of Education, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society for Intelligence Research (ISIR). ISIR is the focal scientific society for the world’s researchers on human intelligence.
  • Excellence in Advising and Mentorship Award
    • 2015 – Laura Eisenman, Associate Professor, SOE  and Advisor for UD’s Disabilities Studies Minor
    • 2014 – Laura Glass, Assistant Professor and Associate Director, School of Education
    • 2103 – Marsha Baumeister, Assistant Professor of Education
  • Excellence in Teaching Award

See CEHD Award recipients from 2010-2013.


Our programs are nationally accredited by:

  • American Council on Teaching Foreign Languages (ACTFL)
  • American Library Association/American Association of School Librarians (ALA/AASL)
  • Association for Education Communications and Technology (AECT)
  • Association for Childhood Education International (ACEI)
  • Council for Exceptional Children (CEC)
  • Council for Standards in Human Service Education (CSHSE)
  • Educational Leadership Constituent Council (ELCC)
  • International Reading Association (IRA)
  • National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC)
  • National Association of School Psychologists (NASP)
  • National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)
  • National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM)
  • National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE)
  • National Science Teachers Association (NSTA)
  • National Council for the Social Studies (NCSS)
  • Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages (TESOL)

The University of Delaware provides a list of all accreditations received by the university.  


Donate UD Connection UDaily Commitment to Delawareans