UNIVERSITY OF DELAWARE SCHOOL OF EDUCATION 2015 CELEBRATION OF EXCELLENCE AWARDS

Welcome		
Undergraduate Student Awards		
		Associate Director, School of Education
Delta Kanna Gar	mma International Soci	ety, Alpha Chapter – Senior Award
Recipient:	Leigh Kaminski	ety, rapha orapier comor ravara
Delaware Associ	ation of School Admini	strators Award
Recipient:	Stephen Kanefsky	
Excellence in Ac	cademic Achievement A	ward
Recipients:	Courtney Martin (FR)	
•	Hannah Wolpert (FR)	
	Jennifer Kreis (SO)	
	Brianna Cohen (JR)	
	Stephen Kanefsky (SR	
First State Const	itutional Scholarship	
Recipient:	Christine High	
Mathematics Ed	lucation Undergraduate	e Award
Recipient:	Amanda Boccardi	
Van Camp/Rem	age Teacher Education	n Merit Award
Recipient:	Jessica Jang	
Elementary Teac	cher Education Outstar	nding Student Teachers
Recipients:	Jenna Albi	Stephen Kanefsky
	Shelby Dorr	Anelyse Porreca
	Jenna Irwin	
Graduate Student Av	vards	Dr. Ralph Ferretti
Staduate Stadellt 11v		Di capit Circu

Director, School of Education

Frank B. Murray Award for Excellence in Graduate Research

Recipient: Nicole Hansen

Mathematics Education Graduate Award Recipient: Alison Marzocchi Pearl and Oscar Bregman Award Sara Posey Recipient: Richard L. Venezky Award for Creative Research in Literacy Recipient: Allison Jackson Robert W. Stegner Award Recipient: Nader Makarious University Dissertation Fellows Award Recipient: Shari Watkins University Graduate Fellows Award Recipient: Lindsey Mantz Victor Mankin Award Recipient: Nicolaas Van Oss Director, School of Education Distinguished Alumnus Recipient: Lamont Browne

School of Education Distinguished Faculty Award

Recipient: William Lewis

School of Education Second Mile Award

Recipient: Ann Jornlin

Closing......Dr. Lynn Okagaki

Dean, College of Education and Human Development

Director, School of Education

Following the awards ceremony, we invite you to join us for a reception in the lobby.

AWARD DESCRIPTIONS

Delta Kappa Gamma International Society, Alpha Chapter Awards

These awards are presented to full-time freshman, sophomore, junior and senior females enrolled in a teacher education program. Selection is based upon outstanding scholarship and active participation in education-related activities. The student should exhibit qualities that demonstrate future promise in the field of education.

Delaware Association of School Administrators Award

This award is presented by the Delaware Association of School Administrators to a graduating senior in education who has demonstrated outstanding qualities of scholarship, leadership and character and gives promise of making a meaningful contribution to the teaching profession.

Excellence in Academic Achievement Award

This award recognizes the freshman, sophomore, junior and senior in the School of Education who has achieved the highest cumulative index in their graduating class.

First State Constitutional Scholarship

The goal of this scholarship is to promote and enhance the teaching of civics in Delaware schools by encouraging outstanding Elementary Teacher Education students to concentrate in the area of social studies. Recipients are freshmen from Delaware who are pursuing the middle school social studies concentration.

Mathematics Education Award

This award is presented to an undergraduate and graduate student in the School of Education who has shown outstanding scholarship and promise in the field of mathematics education.

Van Camp/Remage Teacher Education Merit Award

An award presented to a teacher education major who demonstrates academic ability, exhibits an ability to overcome special problems and demonstrates potential for future contributions in the field of education and the community.

Elementary Teacher Education Outstanding Student Teacher Award

This award is presented to outstanding student teachers who demonstrate leadership, exceptional dispositions, and a vested interest in the school community. They initiate extensions and enrichments of the curriculum, infuse current applications of technology into instruction, and provide opportunities for students to celebrate each other's diversity to enhance student learning. They also articulate the complex rationale behind decision making and link it to theory, leverage their understanding of cognitive, social and emotional theories to design learning environments that support students' development, and seek opportunities to develop professionally. They consistently earn scores in the target range on the formative/summative evaluation form and have a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher.

Frank B. Murray Award for Excellence in Graduate Research

This award is presented to a Ph.D. or Ed.D. candidate in the School of Education whose work (e.g.,

publications, presentations, dissertation/ELP, assistantships, leadership in the SOE or other professional settings) demonstrates the qualities of thoughtfulness and leadership exhibited during Frank B. Murray's tenure as Dean of the College of Education, 1979-1995. Specifically, the candidate's work is informed by scholarship and can be potentially implemented in or applied to educational settings.

Pearl and Oscar Bregman Award

This award honoring the memory of Pearl K. Bregman, a graduate of the agency counseling psychology program of the former College of Education, is to be given to a graduate student whose research has the potential of improving the lives of children and adolescents.

Richard L. Venezky Award for Creative Research in Literacy

This award is presented to a master's or doctoral student in the School of Education who has done the most creative work in the area of literacy research over the past year.

Robert W. Stegner Award

This award is presented to a senior or graduate student in the School of Education who has demonstrated the outstanding qualities that characterized the late Dr. Stegner: dedication to the teaching profession, a comprehension of the breadth and depth of the science content area and excellence in teaching.

University Dissertation Fellows Award

This award is established by the Office of the Provost to enable and support Ph.D. students to devote full attention to the completion of their doctoral dissertations. The awarding of the tuition scholarships is based on academic achievement, the need to devote full-time effort to dissertation writing and the likelihood of completion of the dissertation within one academic year.

University Graduate Fellows Award

The recipients of these tuition scholarships have completed at least one year of graduate study at the University. Awards are competitive and are based on academic achievement and professional commitment and potential.

Victor Mankin Award

This award is in memory of Victor Mankin, formerly a faculty member in the School Counseling Program. It is presented to a school psychology graduate student who has demonstrated academic excellence and outstanding potential as an education professional.

Distinguished Alumnus Recognition

This honor recognizes an alumnus for his/her outstanding leadership to improve educational opportunities and outcomes for all of Delaware's children and families.

School of Education Distinguished Faculty Award

This award is presented to a full-time faculty member in the School of Education to recognize outstanding achievement in research, teaching and/or service that is clearly beyond the expectations of the position.

School of Education Second Mile Award

This award is presented by the School of Education to an individual in recognition and appreciation of exemplary support and service to the field of education.