University of Delaware
College of Education & Human Development banner
Susan Bunting Sprtnt of the Year

Dr. Susan Bunting, Indian River School District was one of four superintendents nominated for national “Superintendent of the Year”.

Awards and Recognition

CEHD alumni, faculty and staff are often recognized as valued leaders in their field. Recent award recipients can be found on our Awards and Accreditations page. Recipients from prior years are listed below.

Alumni award recipients


Awards presented to CEHD faculty and staff.


  • Early Career Publication Award – Charles Hohensee, assistant professor was recognized by SIG-RME for  his 2014 scholarly article titled “Backward Transfer: An Investigation of the Influence of Quadratic Function Instruction on Students’ Prior Ways of Reasoning about Linear Functions
  • Early Career Award – Amanda Jansen, associate professor, was recognized by the Association of Mathematics Teacher Educators for demonstrating exceptional potential for leadership in mathematics teacher education within the first 10 years of her career.
  • Alison Award– Roberta Golinkoff, H. Rodney Sharp Chair in the School of Education, was presented the 2011 Francis Alison Award, the highest honor bestowed on a UD faculty member. This honor acknowledges Golinkoff’s dedication to scholarship and teaching, including major contributions to research on language acquisition and strong public engagement with research on early learning.
  • Kristine Coll, Senior Assistant Dean of Student Services, was awarded UD’s John Warren Excellence in Leadership and Service Award in 2013 for her work in restructuring our undergraduate and graduate student support services.
  • Gary Allison, professor of special education, was recognized by Kappa Alpha Theta in 2013 as one of their Top Ten Outstanding Faculty Members in the nation.
  • Salzburg Fellows – Rena Hallam and Martha Buell were selected to participate in the 2015 Salzburg Global Seminar, introducing early childhood development to the international conference.
  • ISIR Lifetime Achievement Award – In 2013, Linda Gottfredson, professor, School of Education, received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the International Society for Intelligence Research (ISIR). ISIR is the focal scientific society for the world’s researchers on human intelligence
  • Excellence in Teaching, Advising and Mentorship Awards
    • 2014 – Laura Glass, Assistant Professor and Associate Director, School of Education
    • 2103 – Marsha Baumeister, Assistant Professor of Education
    • Lynn Worden, Assistant Professor and Undergraduate Coordinator in HDFS – 2012
    • Stephanie Kotch, Elementary Teacher Education Field Experience Coordinator for SOE – 2011
  • The Human Development and Family Studies doctoral program was ranked among the best in the U.S. for student support/outcomes, by the National Research Council in 2010.
Donate UD Connection UDaily Commitment to Delawareans