• Visit
  • Apply
  • Give

Congratulations to our CEHD alumni, who have proven themselves to be tops in their field.

Dan Shelton, Ed.D. ’07 and Byron Murphy, M.Ed. ’98 were recognized as National Distinguished Principals in Delaware for setting high standards for instruction, student achievement, character, and climate for the students, families, and staffs in their learning communities.

Shelton, principal at Jennie E. Smith Elementary School was  one of 60 outstanding elementary and middle school principals selected from across the nation by the National Association of Elementary School Principals. Murphy, principal of John Dickinson High School, was selected for the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

In Delaware, three CEHD  alumni were nominated by their districts for 2013 Teacher of the Year. The candidates were nominated by their districts because of their superior ability to inspire students with a love of learning, exemplary demonstration of professional traits and strong sense of dedication and devotion to teaching.

  • Sarah Rusk, ETE ’02, Hanby Elementary School 
  • Karen Hruz, M.I. ’98 George Kirk Middle School
  • Patricia Dallas, ECE ’94, Richardson Park Learning Center

During UD’s 2012 Homecoming Weekend, Pres. Pat Harker presented Karen Stout (see photo above), Ed.D. ’95, and five other UD alums with a Presidential Citation for Outstanding Achievement.     

Stout has served as president of Montgomery County Community College, a multi-campus college in suburban Philadelphia, since 2001. Under her leadership, Montgomery County Community College is recognized nationally for its work in student success and its use of technology. For five consecutive years, the college has been named to the President’s National Honor Roll for Community Service and has earned recognition for its work in climate leadership.