• Visit
  • Apply
  • Give

In the spring of 2012, the University of Delaware College of Education and Human Development (CEHD) honored outstanding students in the School of Education and the Department of Human Development and Family Studies.

Awards were presented to the students of CEHD to help foster academic achievement, research, leadership and diversity. The students who were recognized were able to translate the knowledge gained in their coursework into practical experience; enriching both their lives and those they helped to serve.

In addition to identifying students with noteworthy achievements, the School of Education recognized three faculty members.

  • The Second Mile Award for exceptional contributions to public education, was presented to Melva Ware, director of ASPIRE.
  • The 2012 Distinguished Faculty Award was awarded to Laura Glass, associate director of the School of Education and Amanda Jansen, associate professor, SOE.

Thank you to our benefactors, several of whom were in attendance to help recognize their recipients. Attendees included members of the Marion H. Steele family –Bonnie Steele and Marion Ainsley Steele; former faculty members, Mary Jane Strattner-Gregory and Kitty Bieber; and current faculty, Frank Murray and Julie Wilgen.

Congratulations to all our students for a successful year!

See UDaily’s article Recognizing Talent for more details.