• Visit
  • Apply
  • Give
2018 Celebration of Excellence awardees

College of Education and Human Development Celebration of Excellence


On Friday, April 27, 2018, the College of Education and Human Development recognized our undergraduate and graduate students for their academic excellence, research, leadership, and outstanding potential as professionals in the fields of education and human services.

The departments of Human Development and Family Sciences and the School of Education held concurrent ceremonies at the Embassy Suites Hotel from 3 to 4 p.m., followed by a joint reception. Faculty, family and friends were on-hand to congratulate the recipients.

Several of the awards presented were established by generous donors, passionate about their time spent working in the fields of education and human services. A number of these benefactors attended the celebration, where they were able to meet their grateful awardees.

Undergraduate Awards

Alice P. Eyman Professional Development Award 

Recipient: Danielle Stevenson 

Amy Rextrew Rising Senior Award 

Recipient: Alissa Shapiro 

Amy Rextrew Rising Junior Award 

Recipient: Patty Swanson 

Catherine Bieber Scholarship for Academic Achievements and Leadership in Human Development and Family Studies 

Recipient: Haley McDonald 

Delaware Association for the Education of Young Children Student Leadership Award 

Recipient: Laura Paragone 

Irma Ayers Scholar Award 

Recipient: Aryanne Costanza 

Jane I. Davidson Laboratory Preschool Award 

Recipient: Shannon McGuire 

Lila C. Murphy Award for Women’s Equity and Leadership 

Recipient: Alexa Ploss 

Lila C. Murphy Community and Family Services Scholarship 

Recipient: Colleen Mueller 

Outstanding Student Teachers Awards 

Recipients: Meghan Coyne, Maddie McGrail 

Early Learning Center Scholar Award (New) 

Recipient: Makenzie Mullen 

Graduate Student Awards 

Amy Rextrew Graduate Student Award 

Recipient: Laura Cutler 

Julie Mapes Wilgen Award in Human Sexuality and Gender Studies 

Recipients: Aneesa Baboolal, Megan Bittinger, Jasmine Edwards, Rebecca Glinn 

Lynn R. Okagaki Graduate Tuition Scholarship in Human Development 

Recipient: Cory Gilden 

Strattner-Gregory Child Advocacy Award 

Recipient: Fiona Tumulty 

Undergraduate Awards

Excellence in Academic Achievement

Katelyn Coleman, FR

Katherine Healy, FR

Meghan Quirgley, FR

Emily Normand, SO

Morgan Goodman, JR

Sarah Buchler, SR

Courtney Martin, SR

Mathematics Education Undergraduate

Kelly Skettini

ETE Outstanding Student Teachers 

Rachel Foley

Christine High

Erica Marini

Megan Murphy

Rachel Narcho

Amanda Obiedzinski

Jessica Riniti

Kelly Skettini

Mikayla Wolken

Allyson Yates

Graduate Awards

Frank B. Murray Award for Excellence in Graduate Research

Dandan Chen

Hilary Mead

Mathematics Education Graduate Award

Joseph DiNapoli

Pearl and Oscar Bregman Award 

Rachel Salinger

Richard L. Venezky Award for Creative Research in Literacy

John Strong

Robert W. Stegner Award 

Andrew Drewes

Victor Mankin Award 

Sydney Morales

University Dissertation Fellowship Award

Hui Yang

University Doctoral Fellowship Award

John Strong

Jordana Woodford

Faculty Awards

Distinguished Faculty Award  

Zoubeida Dagher

Stephanie Kotch-Jester

Second Mile Award

Barbara Prillaman

Alice Eyman and awardee