• Visit
  • Apply
  • Give
Myae Han and Martha Buell with alum Alison Hooper at AERA
Roberta Golinkoff and Kathy Hirsh receive AERA award

Alison Hooper and HDFS faculty at AERA award ceremony

Roderick Carey with AERA presenter

CEHD awardees recognized at 2018 AERA Annual Meeting: Photo 1 – Roberta Golinkoff and collaborator Kathy Hirsh Pasek; Photo 2 – Alison Hooper, holding award, flanked by HDFS faculty and AERA presenter; Photo 3 – Roderick Carey, on right, with AERA presenter. 

The AERA 2018 Annual Meeting was held on April 13-17 in New York City. During the awards presentations, AERA recognized two CEHD faculty and one alumni for their outstanding contributions to research in education.    

  Outstanding Public Communication of Education Research Roberta Golinkoff, UD’s Unidel H. Rodney Sharp Chair and professor in the School of Education and Kathryn Hirsh-Pasek, Temple University, have been long-time collaborators, conducting groundbreaking research on language, literacy, education, and spatial development in the field of developmental psychology in infants and young children. This award honors scholars exemplary in their capacity to communicate the importance of education research to the broad public, including education communities. It recognizes scholars who have excelled in conveying important findings and research to wide audiences and who have demonstrated the capacity to deepen understanding and appreciation of the value of education research in the public sphere. What sets this duo apart is their ability to enthusiastically and accessibly disseminate their work, especially to lay audiences. They contribute regularly to external media, blog extensively for the Brookings Institution, Huffington Post, and other venues, published a book for parents and educators titled, Becoming Brilliant: What Science Tells Us About Raising Successful Children, and convey educational research to policymakers. In February, Golinkoff delivered a congressional briefing on language development, organized by House members Rosa DiLauro and Chuck Fleishmann, and the organization Zero to Three. Outstanding Article Award Roderick Carey, HDFS, was presented the William J. Davis Award for the best article from the Educational Leadership division of AERA. This award given annually to the author of the most outstanding article published in Educational Administration Quarterly during the preceding volume year. Carey’s paper was titled, Guilty as Charged? Principals’ Perspectives on Disciplinary Practices and the Racial Discipline Gap(Volume 53, Issue 4, 2017).  

The Educational Administration Quarterly journal is affiliated with Division A (Administration, Organization, and Leadership) of the American Educational Research Association, and it was thus presented during the Division A business meeting.

Article authors included:

  • David E. DeMatthews  – University of Texas, at El Paso, College of Education
  • Roderick L. Carey – University of Delaware, College of Education and Human Development
  • Arturo Olivarez – University of Texas, at El Paso, College of Education
  • Kevin Moussavi Saeedi – University of Texas, at El Paso, College of Education

  Outstanding Dissertation Award   Alison Hooper, M, PhD, Human Development and Family Sciences, was presented the 2018 Early Education and Child Development Outstanding Dissertation Award. Her dissertation, “Identifying and exploring profiles of home-based child care providers based on their beliefs and practices,” consisted of three connected studies focused on understanding the diverse home-based child care provider workforce. Hooper is now an assistant professor of early childhood education at the University of Alabama This award is given by the division to recognize outstanding dissertation research appropriate to the field, including the leadership, organization and administration of schools and the preparation of educational leaders. Studies embracing both traditional and alternative conceptualizations and methodologies are welcomed. Last year, this award was presented Lauren Bailes, a UD faculty member in our School of Education. Learn more about Alison Hooper’s award in UDaily.          

  The American Educational Research Association (AERA) is international in scope, with more than 25,000 members representing faculty, researchers, graduate students and other professionals from the U.S. and around the world.  Founded in 1916, it aims to improve the educational process by encouraging scholarly inquiry related to education and evaluation and by promoting the dissemination and practical application of research results.